Alexander Gavrylyuk - Photo: Anna Sanfeliu

Gavrylyuk plays Rachmaninov 2

Programme

Richard Wagner Overture Tannhäuser
Sergei Rachmaninov Second Piano Concerto
Max Reger Four Tondichtungen after Arnold Böcklin


This concert presents impressive pages from Russian music history. Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto is one of the most famous keyboard concertos of all time. It unites top-notch technical bravura with beautiful lyricism and Russian melancholy. By composing, the composer fought his depression and cured himself. It is right up the alley of the Ukrainian pianist Alexander Gavrylyuk. After the interval, four 'tone poems' based on paintings by the Swiss Arnold Böcklin by theme composer Max Reger, born in the same year as Rachmaninov.


Ticket sales AVROTROS Friday concert season 2022-23
From Tuesday 22 March '22: series tickets
From Tuesday 29 March '22: single tickets and series selections

Date:
Friday, 30 September 2022
Time:
8:15 pm
Intermission:
Yes
Location:
TivoliVredenburg

Utrecht
-
Large Hall

Performers

Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Go to the website
Christian Reif
Conductor
Alexander Gavrylyuk - Photo: Anna Sanfeliu
Alexander Gavrylyuk
Piano

Coming soon

Saturday, 10 September 2022
NTR Saturday Matinee

Bellini's Norma: back in the Netherlands

Karina Canellakis -c-Mathias Bothor
Friday 16 September 2022
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Opening concert - New work by Jacob TV

Saturday 17 September 2022
NTR Saturday Matinee

Leclair, the musical peacemaker

Anja Bihlmaier_c_Neda Navaee
Friday 23 September 2022
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Van Gilse, Mozart & Mussorgsky

Mathilde Wantenaar-c-karen-van-gilst
Saturday 24 September 2022
NTR Saturday Matinee

A new Wantenaar for Simone Lamsma

Lahav Shani - Marco Borggreve
Saturday 1 October 2022
NTR Saturday Matinee

Con brio: Widmann, Dvorák, Brahms

Sunday 2 October 2022
The Sunday Morning Concert

Winners of the Liszt piano festival in Utrecht

Friday 7 October 2022
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Ode to Music Making

Lise Davidsen_c_James Hole
Saturday, 8 October 2022
NTR Saturday Matinee

Lise Davidsen unites Germany and Italy

Sunday 9 October 2022
The Sunday Morning Concert

Brahms, Schumann and Poulenc with Remy van Kesteren

Keep up to date with all concerts, media and news